It was another jam-packed day of competition at NEC today, which included the third and final round of the Webb Equestrian Para Equestrian Championships. Grade I Para Champion went to Jodie Thorne and Ira Hayes, finishing on a high note by posting their best score of the show (73.417). The Grade II went to Nicola Essex and Mirako SP, with Chontelle Honour and Eddiealex taking Reserve. 

Rachel Hughes posted some great scores to take the Grade III championship, while Louise Duncan successfully defended her Grade IV title with Wolkenstein BC. She followed this up with a solid reserve on Northern Ivanthus finishing both her Round 3 tests well into the 70s. The Hunniman trophy for the highest Freestyle % over all Grades also went to Louise & Northern Ivanthus scoring  74.75  

Young Riders opened their championship bid with the BV Contracting Round One Musical Freestyle. Lilly Jefferies (20) was all class on Lindisfarne Laureate, scooping first place with 68.25%. She is currently based in Palmerston North as a working pupil for Grand Prix rider Cooper Oborn. Second place went to 18-year-old Anna Wilson (Waikato) riding Neversfelde Rupert. Madison Schollum (Waikato) took third spot with Kinnordy Golda, followed by Tayla McDonald and Ramsbury in fourth.

The Medium Tour and Grand Prix competitors also performed their Freestyle tests today. In the Brett Kendall & Rosemary Carter Open Medium Tour Gaylene Lennard (Waikato) and Jax Johnson were the standout combination, and all five judges had them decisively in first place with a score of 74.33. Her music was spot on and she rode to a foot perfect finish. Riding into second was Wendi Williamson (Auckland) and her talented Don Vito MH on 68.87, who had some green moments but he’s a little firecracker that looks to have an exciting future! Third went to Chelsea Callaghan (Wellington) and Sisters II Etta J, one of only two riders choosing to ride in a plain snaffle bridle; the other being Anya Noble and Geronimo Star. 

Melissa Galloway and Windermere JObei W again proved unbeatable in the Kur, rising to the top of the field with 75.655 (and taking home the Tironui trophy, awarded annually to the winner of this class). It was a total pleasure to see Julie Brougham and Vom Feinsten take the stage again, coming in second on 74.745. Third went to William Millar and Raukura Satori MH (71.345) with Melissa fourth aboard her second horse Windermere Johanson W.

Round One of the Small Tour Championship went to Vanessa Way (Taranaki) and NSC Timbermill Prequel; Penny Castle (Hawke’s Bay) and Lord Alexis nailed their first round in the Dressage Waitemata Advanced 6A test. The Super 5 tests for L4 and L5 were claimed by Vaughn Cooper and River Jim(Hunterville), and Casey Burton and Fanfare MH respectively (the latter barely a whisker from second placegetter Lucy Cochrane and Gymanji, with a countback needed to determine the winner).

Nicki Stone and Delta RE are sitting in prime position for Round Two of the Elite Frozen Foals NZ Amateur Advanced title tomorrow, after today’s close win. Over in The Flight Centre Bates Open Advanced Medium Haydee Wells-Parmenter will be looking to hold onto her lead for tomorrow’s championship decider.

Results Sat 21 Nov

All Photos Copyright Libby Law Photography

NZL-Julie Brougham rides Vom Feinsten. Cpack Ltd Bates Open Grand Prix Championship

NZL-Louise Duncan rides Wolkenstien BC, with Northern Ivanthus.

NZL-Nicola Essex rides Mirako SP.

NZL-Kalista Field rides Felix Westfalia. 2020 NZL-Bates Saddles NZ Dressage Championships.

NZL-Jody Hartstone rides Ali Baba. Superior Rubber Surfaces Super 5 League –

NZL-Melissa Galloway rides Windermere JObèi W. Final-1st. Cpack Ltd Bates Open Grand Prix Championship

NZL-Lilly Jefferies rides Lindisfarne Laureate. Final-1st. BV Contracting Young Rider Championship