Dan Jocelyn and Florencina R came oh-so-close to the podium in the CCI3*-L at the Hartpury International Horse Trials. The Kiwi combo placed fourth, finishing on 39 penalty points, in the horse’s first CCI3*-L start. Dan said it had been a huge three weeks for Florencina with plenty of learning along the way. They added just 8.4 time penalties in the cross country, otherwise had a clean slate.

Badminton winner Piggy French headed home the 52-strong field with 31.4 penalty points aboard Brookfield Quality. Piggy also took the quinella in the CCI4*-S, winning aboard Quarrycrest Echo on her dressage score of 26.6 penalty points and finishing second on Brookfield Innocent.

Jesse Campbell and Cooley Lafitte placed 11th in the CCO2*-L, on a score of 34.9 penalty points, adding just four showjumping penalties to their dressage score. Harriet Beaumont and Annaghmore Bonita won the class on 29.6 with Mark Davidson and Striding Edge second on 29.9. Tim Rusbridge and Inception were 17th on 37.8.

There was a number of NZ combinations competing in the CCI4*-S, having a preparation run a head of Burghley coming up next month. 

Across the channel in France, Andrew Nicholson and Argentino BK were the best of the Kiwis at the Le Grand Complet at Haras du Pin in Normandy. Andrew placed fourth in the CCI3*-L with a score of 30.6 penalty points. He was the first non-French rider in the top four, with Thomas Carlile and Bary Louvo winning on 24.8.

Hollie Swain and Solo placed 10th in the 32-strong class with their score of 37.7 with Andrew and Babiblonia BT4 right behind on 39.2. Hollie was also 16th aboard Faruq Aldrup 51.8.
Bruce Haskell and Amiro Sky scored 39.8 to place 23rd in the CCI3*-S class which was won by Gwendolen Fer FRA) and Traumprinz on 30.

The horse details:
Ricker Ridge Rui – owned by Christine Quigley and Samantha Lissington
Florencina R – owned by Jo Preston-Hunt, Philip Hunt and Dan Jocelyn
Inception – owned by Tim Rusbridge
Cooley Lafitte – owned by Jay Jaffar
Argentino BK – owned by Andrew Nicholson
Solo – owned by John Bodenham
Babiblonia BT4 – owned by Andrew Nicholson
Faruq Aldrup – owned by Floris Ltd
Amiro Sky – owned by Judy, Tom and Bruce Haskell


By Diana Dobson – HP Media Liaison