Andrew Nicholson has another trophy in the cabinet from the Barbury International Horse trials, this time from winning the CCI3*-S (section B) aboard As Is.

The Kiwi combination finished on 28 penalty points, adding 1.2 time penalties in the cross country, with Piggy French (GBR) and Brookfield Innocent second on 29 and Laura Collett (GBR) aboard Sir Papillon third on 29.4. World no.1 Tim Price was sixth on Bango with a score of 34.7 having added 4.4 time penalties in the cross country. Sir Mark Todd and Cool Tide placed 21st on 45.6, Hollie Swain and Drumnaconnell Nico 30th on 50.9, Jonelle Price and Cooley Showtime 38th with their 55.4 penalty point effort and Tayla Mason on Centennial 47th with 63.4.

Just three of the 72 combinations to complete the class were clear and inside time in the cross country. Four retired on course with 16 eliminated including Andrew Nicholson aboard Coolparks Sarco and Dan Jocelyn on Lissyegan Rory.

Sir Mark Todd was the best of the Kiwis in the CCI3*-S (section A), placing third aboard Leonidas II, finishing on their dressage score of 30.6 penalty points, with Andrew Nicholson and Andrea BT4 in fourth on 33. Piggy French (GBR) and Brookfield Quality took out the class on their dressage score of 28.6 with Adam Harvey (GBR) and Picasso V second on 30.4/
Dan Jocelyn and Florencina R finished in 13th place with their 39.5 penalty point run, with Andrew and Argentino BK 16th on 41.6. Dan was also 26th with 46 penalty points from Duke of Champions, Nick Brooks and For Fame 30th on 49.3, and Hollie Swain and Solo XII 39th on 53.9.

Just five combinations were clear and inside time in the cross country with 75 completing the class, five retiring during the cross country including Jonelle Price and Cloud Dancer II, and seven eliminated.

The dressage of the CCI4*-S is now complete with two Kiwis in the top 10 – Andrew Nicholson and Swallow Springs sit in sixth equal on 29.4 penalty points with Jonelle Price and Grovine de Reve in ninth equal on 30.2. Jesse Campbell and I Spye scored 37.8 to sit in 49th in the 83-strong field.

Mollie Summerland and Charly van ter Heiden lead on a score of 23.8 with Pippa Funnell and MGH Grafton Street in second on 27.1 and Elisabeth Halliday-Sharp in third aboard Deniro Z on 27.5. The showjumping and cross country will run overnight.


The horse details:

I Spye – owned by Kent Gardner and Jesse Campbell
Swallow Springs – owned by Paul and Diana Ridgeon
Grovine de Reve – owned by Therese Miller, Philip Hunt and Jo Preston-Hunt

For Fame – owned by Nick Brooks
Duke of Champions – owned by Philip Hunt, Jo Preston-Hunt and Joyce Snook
Florencina R – owned by Philip Hunt, Jo Preston-Hunt and Dan Jocelyn
Lissyegan Rory – owned by Debbie Cunningham and Dan Jocelyn
Centennial – owned by Sue Rutter and Tayla and Sonya Mason
Andrea BT4 – owned by Andrew Nicholson
Argentino BK – owned by Andrew Nicholson
As Is – owned by Deborah Sellar and Anna Weir
Cloud Dancer – owned by The Marley and Me Syndicate
Cooley Showtime – owned by Suzanne Houchin, Lucy and Ben Sangster and Sir Peter Vela
Bango – owned by the Numero Uno Syndicate
Drumnaconnell Nico – owned by Hollie Swain
Solo – owned by John Bodenham
Cool Tide – owned by Di Brunsden and Peter Cattell
Leonidas II – owned by Di Brunsden, Peter Catell and Sir Mark Todd

By Diana Dobson – HP Media Liaison
Photos by Libby Law/ESNZ