The Kiwis have notched some good results and are sitting handy on the second day of competition at the Barbury International Horse Trials in the UK.

In the CCI4*-S Jonelle Price and Grovine de Reve scored 30.2 penalty points with Jesse Campbell and I Spye on 37.8. Forty-four of the field have completed their dressage with just three combinations going sub-30, and the remaining 43 to come tomorrow including Andrew Nicholson aboard Swallow Springs. Elisabeth Halliday-Sharp (USA) and Deniro Z lead on 27.5 penalty points.

In the CCI3*-S (section A) Andrew Nicholson and Andrea BT4 remain the best of the Kiwis in fourth place on 28.2 penalty points. All 100 combinations have completed their dressage with Marcelo Tosi (BRA) leading the field aboard Starbucks on 25.9. Sir Mark Todd and Leonidas II sit on 30.6, Jonelle Price and Cloud Dancer are on 31.6, Dan Jocelyn aboard Florencina R on 33.1, Nick Brooks with For Fame on 34.9, Hollie Swain aboard Solo XII on 35.1, and Dan Jocelyn with Duke of Champions on 36.

It’s another big class in the 104-strong CCI3*-S (section B) where again Andrew Nicholson leads the charge for the New Zealanders in second spot having scored 26.8 penalty points aboard As Is. Hannah Bate (GBR) and Fanta Boy are at the front of the field on 25.9 penalty points with all of the top 10 under 30. Tim Price and Bango scored 30.3, Jonelle Price and Cooley Showtime notched 31.4, Sir Mark Todd on Cool Tide 33.2, Hollie Swain aboard Drumnaconnell Nico 33.3, Andrew Nicholson on Coolparks Sarco 34, Dan Jocelyn with Lissyegan Rory 35.1 and Tayla Mason aboard Centennial 36.6.

Tim Price and Emotion II has won the 38-strong novice (section E) on 26 penalty points with Chris Burton (AUS) and Kiltown Sherlock their nearest on 28.8. Sir Mark Todd and Cool Reign placed sixth on 31.8.

Andrew Nicholson and Damaso won the novice (section F) on 26.3 penalty points with Vittoria Panizzon (ITA) and Caraghs Royal Quality second on the same mark. Tim Rusbridge and MHS Sicario were seventh in the 38-strong class.

Tim Price also had a win in the intermediate-novice (section I) aboard Falco IV and was second in the open novice (section D) on Happy Boy.


The horse details:

I Spye – owned by Kent Gardner and Jesse Campbell
Swallow Springs – owned by Paul and Diana Ridgeon
Grovine de Reve – owned by Therese Miller, Philip Hunt and Jo Preston-Hunt

For Fame – owned by Nick Brooks
Duke of Champions – owned by Philip Hunt, Jo Preston-Hunt and Joyce Snook
Florencina R – owned by Philip Hunt, Jo Preston-Hunt and Dan Jocelyn
Lissyegan Rory – owned by Debbie Cunningham and Dan Jocelyn
Centennial – owned by Sue Rutter and Tayla and Sonya Mason
Andrea BT4 – owned by Andrew Nicholson
Argentino BK – owned by Andrew Nicholson
As Is – owned by Deborah Sellar and Anna Weir
Cloud Dancer – owned by The Marley and Me Syndicate
Cooley Showtime – owned by Suzanne Houchin, Lucy and Ben Sangster and Sir Peter Vela
Bango – owned by the Numero Uno Syndicate
Drumnaconnell Nico – owned by Hollie Swain
Solo – owned by John Bodenham
Cool Tide – owned by Di Brunsden and Peter Cattell
Leonidas II – owned by Di Brunsden, Peter Catell and Sir Mark Todd
Coolparks Sarco – owned by Andrew Nicholson

Emotion II – owned by Eventing First PLC
Damaso – owned by Andrew Nicholson
MHS Sicario – owned by Tim Rusbridge
Falco IV – owned by Sue Benson
Happy Boy – owned by Susan Lamb and Therese Miller

By Diana Dobson – HP Media Liaison
Photos by Libby Law/ESNZ