Congratulations to the New Zealand team and individual riders who have notched up the narrowest of team wins and scored wins in three of the five divisions, plus a number of top ten finishes.

Zone 8 comprised New Zealand, Australia, Hong Kong,South Africa and Chinese Tapei (2016 zone winners).

It is nearly a decade since Australia participated in the Challenge so it was great to have our closest international neighbours back in the mix as a measure of our own progress. 

NZL Team: Lauren Haig, Canterbury (Westford Lanciano) Melissa Galloway,Marlborough (Windermere J”Obei W) Nicola Maley, Canterbury (Astek Galahad) Millie Thompson,Canterbury (Rifesyde Prancer).

New Zealand 1st  239.842

Australia 2nd 239.132

Chinese Taipei 3rd 237.079

South Africa 4th 235.816

Hong Kong 196.339

Full team results

Individually Lauren Haig was 3rd from 16 starters in the Int I, Melissa Galloway 1st in the PSG from 26 starters, Karolyn Norton and Larapinta Primadonna 1st in a large field of 46 in the Senior II, Diane Wallace 1st in a massive 53 strong field in the Senior I. In the Youth Class, Australian based Jasmine Haynes rode for NZL to score 2nd on 67.167%, narrowly ahead of Millie Thompson on 67.03% in third place.

Full individual results

Thanks to our naming sponsors Livamol, class sponsors Zilco, Syncroflex, Hatton & Lilly and Exclusively Yours, Best Presented Stable Art by Belinda, and supporters Johnson & Couzins Hire, and the Southern Trust.