The 2018 FEI World Equestrian Games will very much be front of mind for the five Olympians named in the ESNZ High Performance Eventing Squad.

Britain-based riders Blyth Tait, Tim and Jonelle Price and Sir Mark Todd, along with Matangi domiciled Clarke Johnstone remain on New Zealand’s top squad.

Tim Price has three horses in Ringwood Sky Boy, Bango and Xavier Faer. 14-year-old Ringwood Sky Boy was his Rio Olympic Games horse, and since then has placed fourth and fifth at Burghley.  Eleven-year-old Bango, who has competed at both Burghley and Kentucky, is also on squad. His third horse is Xavier Faer who was third at Badminton this year and also has 4* experience at both Pau and Burghley.

Jonelle Price has been named aboard the 14-year-old mare Classic Moet who was New Zealand’s best at the 2014 WEG with a fourth place and has three top 10 finishes at CCI4* level to her credit.  She is also on squad with her Rio Olympic horse, the 12-year-old mare Faerie Dianimo who has three top 10 CCI4* finishes, including a second at Luhmuhlen.

Todd has his 2012 London Olympic Games team bronze medal-winner, 15-year-old NZB Campino who is hugely consistent at CCI4* level.  He has also been named with 13-year-old Leonidas II, on whom he finished seventh at the Rio Olympic Games.

Johnstone and 13-year-old Balmoral Sensation were New Zealand’s best at the Rio Olympics with their sixth place finish. The combination recently won the CCI4* at Adelaide and were last year fifth at Badminton.

Rio reserve Tait is in with 12-year-old Bear Necessity V who has completed Burghley, Badminton and Pau.

Eventing high performance manager Graeme Thom says the squads continue to show a strong base of combinations . . . and that pleases him in the countdown to 2018 WEG.

“It is extremely encouraging that many names of New Zealand-based riders have been added (across the squads), which portends for continued strength and success in the upcoming years.” He thanked the selectors for their “diligence and efforts”.

High Performance Squad




Blyth Tait           

Bear Necessity V              

Ronnie Bartlett and Blyth Tait

Clarke Johnstone    

Balmoral Sensation

Johnstone Family

Jonelle Price

Classic Moet

Trisha Rickards and Jonelle Price

Jonelle Price

Faerie Dianimo

Trisha Rickards, Jacky Green and Jonelle Price

Sir Mark Todd

NZB Campino

New Zealand Bloodstock and Sir Mark Todd

Sir Mark Todd

Leonidas II

Diane Brunsden, Peter Cattell and Sir Mark Todd

Tim Price

Ringwood Sky Boy

Robert Taylor, Varenna Allen, Tim Price and

Tim Price


Numero Uno Syndicate

Tim Price

Xavier Faer

Trisha Rickards, Nigella Hall and Tim Price


High Performance Futures Squad




Dan Jocelyn

Dassett Coo Touch    

Therese Miller and Dan Jocelyn

Dan Jocelyn

Grovine de Reve

Therese Miller, Jo Preston-Hunt, Philip Hunt and Dan Jocelyn

Caroline Powell    

Spice Sensation

Claire and Michael Hunter and Caroline Powell

Jesse Campbell      

Amsterdam 21      

Gary and Linda Harding

Jonathan Paget

Angus Blue

Joe and Alexander Giannamore

Jonelle Price

Cloud Dancer

The Marley and Me Syndicate

Jonelle Price


Joanne Pullan

Jonelle Price

Ascona M

Suzanne Houchin, Lucy and Ben Sangster and Sir Peter Vela

Sir Mark Tood

Kiltubrid Rhapsody   

Dr Elizabeth Donald & Niki Ryan

Sir Mark Todd


David and Katherine Thomson


Future Potential Recognition Squad

Amanda Pottinger (Havelock North)

Bundy Philpott (Cambridge)

Donna Edwards-Smith (Te Kauwhata)

Emily Cammock (Christchurch)

Ginny Thompson (Kaukapakapa)

James Avery (UK)

Joe Meyer (USA)

Lucy Jackson (UK)

Lizzie Green (Hamilton)

Neil Spratt (UK)

Samantha Felton (Hamilton)


Talent Development

Abby Lawrence (Te Puke)

Abigail Long (Levin)

Andy Daines (Kumeu)

Ashleigh McKinstry (Owhango)

Maddy Crowe (Hamilton)

Renee Faulkner (Papakura)


Talent ID Squad

Beth Wilson (Papakura)

Brodie Roberts (Canterbury)

Greer Caddigan (Hamilton)

Kate Herdson (Auckland)

Lucy Turner (Christchurch)

Sophie Alexander (Auckland)

Vicky Browne-Cole (Waiuku)


By Diana Dobson – HP Media Liaison