Horse Power NEC Taupo NEC Christchurch
Log In Become a Member

ESNZ Board & Committees

Meet the Board who govern Equestrian Sports NZ

Richard Sunderland


Richard is a long-standing Jumping Official for both ESNZ and the FEI.  He has served several terms as ESNZ President, Chair of the Jumping Board and has also been Chair of the ESNZ Board.  He is a results-oriented business leader with both national and international equestrian management experience.  Richard has a proven successful track record in multi stakeholder engagement and an extensive history of not-for-profit community involvement.  He offers excellent commercial acumen and strategic vision being able to inspire and develop teams and organisations through significant change.

Lynda Clark

Vice-President & Chair

Lynda is an experienced facilitator, manager, coach and mentor with a background in Dairy Sector organisations, Tertiary Agricultural education and rural wellness.  She is highly skilled in leadership and people management, rural wellness and development, business planning, and innovative education. She has a passion for growing great individuals and teams where a positive can-do culture prevails. Lynda has served on the Dressage Board as Chair, an appointed ESNZ Board member in the past and now sits as Vice President and Chair of the ESNZ Board.

Scott McKenna


Scott is an experienced criminal litigation lawyer.  Scott has also competed to the highest level of Grand Prix in dressage, which gives him invaluable insight into the equestrian industry as well as being the current Chairman of Dressage New Zealand, the Chairman of the Constitution Review Committee, the Chairman of the ESNZ Technical Committee, and the Dressage Discipline Representative on the ESNZ Board.

Maree Burnett


Maree is Secretary General for the New Zealand Canoe Federation, a member of the Board of Canoe Racing NZ, an Olympic Selector for Canoe Slalom, and an Executive member of New Zealand Canoe Polo. Internationally she is the President of the Oceania Canoe Association and sits on the International Canoe Federation (ICF) Board of Directors, as well as serving on several ICF Commissions including the Women’s Commission, Development Commission, and Commonwealth Commission.  In terms of equestrian Maree is a member of the Eventing Board and is the Eventing Representative on the ESNZ Board.

Jenny Booth


Jenny is the owner and operator of East Coast Performance Horses an equine breeding and training establishment based in the Wairarapa.  She is a long time Area Group Representative and Show Co-Ordinator.  Jenny is also a committee member for the NEC Taupo and on the ESNZ Jumping Board as well as being the Jumping Representative for the ESNZ Board.

Hannah Walton

Appointed Member

Hannah is committed to growing New Zealand businesses through best practice governance. She has broad industry experience covering aged care, telecommunications, air transport, ICT and financial sectors, with particular experience in leading large-scale transformational change programmes through a collaborative style, agile mindset and behaviours.  Hannah seeks to bring a long term, strategic focus to the roles she performs and teams she works with, with particular emphasis on clarity of purpose and focus on execution.   With a strong background in investment and product development/delivery, Hannah has deep experience within the ICT industry in leading large-scale technology rollouts.  Hannah brings energy and commercial/business acumen to the board table, with a leaning towards the pursuit of opportunities over risk avoidance.  Hannah sits on the Audit Finance and Risk Sub Committee and is an Appointed Board Member.

Wallie Niederer

Co-Opted Member

Wallie Niederer is Regional Manager of Tokoroa & Districts Vet Services and Taupo Vet Centre. He is interested in everything equestrian and managerial taking a keen interest in the Horse Ambulance.  Wallie is a Co-Opted Board Member and also the NEC Taupo Convenor.

Ana Sever

Appointed Member

Ana has a career-long record of successful transformation and growth of public and private sector business using digital technology. She has proven governance experience in overseeing technology management delivery and performance, ensuring that risks associated with transformation projects and technology use are mitigated and planned business outcomes are achieved. Anna’s governance objectives are focused on advising and leading organisations to take a proactive approach to disruption and successfully optimise business benefit from their digital investment. She brings a fresh and current approach to governance, especially where new energy and direction is needed for accelerated growth.  Ana is an Appointed Board Member.



Don Robertson

Appointed Member

Don is a Chartered Accountant in public practice. A Trustee in a number of Charitable and family trusts and a director in a number of private companies. He is the convenor of the NEC Christchurch, Chair of the Audit Finance and Risk Sub Committee and an Appointed Board Member. 

Audit Finance and Risk Committee

  • Donald Robertson – Chair
  • Lynda Clark
  • Hannah Walton

Appointments and Remuneration Committee

  • Maree Burnett
  • Lynda Clark
  • Sue Billigheimer
  • Chief Executive – with the Chief Executive to drop out if discussing her remuneration

Technical Committee

  • Scott McKenna – Chair
  • Andra Mobberley – Dressage
  • Murray Smith – Endurance
  • Hamish Butler-Gallie – Eventing
  • Amanda Illston – Jumping
  • Susan O’Brien – ESNZ Steward General
  • Sam Jones – NZPCA
  • Tony Parsons – ESNZ Veterinary General (Advisor Only)
  • Graeme McCrory – Honorary Medical Advisor (Advisor Only)