Entries were up and conditions near perfect for the South Canterbury and North Otago Area Championships at the Waimate Showgrounds at the weekend.

It was a fruitful show for both Molly Buist-Brown and Molly Moffatt who both featured in their respective classes.

In the Country TV Pony Grand Prix Johanna Wylaars (Christchurch) and Wembleybrook Tiffan’s double clear stopped a march from Emma Gillies (Oamaru) who places second, third and fourth with her trio of ponies Benrose Playtime, Benrose Eclipse and Benrose Starlight.

Emma was almost on track to take the class aboard Benrose Starlight but a late rail put paid to that and their fastest round of the class was all for nothing.

Nicole White (Invercargill) and LC Samson were the only entrants in the ESNZ Horse Grand Prix but they still rode a solid double clear round.

Molly Buist-Brown (Christchurch) and Vali took the win in the FMG Young Rider class with Zoe Shore (Ashburton) and Saffron taking the Dunstan Horsefeeds Amateur Rider, Molly Moffatt (Christchurch) and Glenmark the Mainland Coachwork Junior Rider, and Nicole White (Invercargill) and Lil Le Roux the Harrison Lane Pro-Amateur Rider.

Eleven started the Cavalleria Toscana Horse Mini Prix class but an opening clear from Molly Buist-Brown (Christchurch) and Vali saw them snag the win with Jessica Hore (Milers Flat) and She’s a Cracker doing the same to the 12-strong field in the Hussey Paint and Panel Pony Mini Prix.

Roger Laplanche designed the courses for ring one, with Barry Mason in ring two and Tony Hutton in ring three. Volunteers had a lot of rain on Friday afternoon but it cleared to be a warm weekend and perfect footing.


Results –

ESNZ (and Ron Williamson) Horse Grand Prix: Nicole White (Invercargill) LC Samson 1.


Country TV (and Ray and Kath Ward-Smith) Pony Grand Prix: Johanna Wylaars (Christchurch) Wembleybrook Tiffan 1, Emma Gillies (Oamaru) Benrose Playtime 2, Emma Gillies (Oamaru) Benrose Eclipse 3, Emma Gillies (Oamaru) Benrose Starlight 4, Jessica Hore (Millers Flat) Tallyho Scoundrel 5.


Main-Events Tertiary Series: Courtney Townsend (Darfield) Corofina ECPH 1, Elsa Rosanowski (Rangiora) Coroiko Gold 2.


Dunstan Horsefeeds Amateur Rider Series: Zoe Shore (Ashburton) Saffron 1, David Hutton (South Canterbury) Rolux 2, Michelle Coombes (Invercargill) Just Amber 3, Harriet Gardner (Waimate) PL Queen of Hearts 4, Sonia Mckerchar (Oamaru) Edward NZPH 5, Olivia Crozier (Canterbury) Twist 6.


Mainland Coachwork Junior Rider Series: Molly Moffatt (Christchurch) Glenmark 1, Samantha Gillies (Oamaru) Socrates De La Ve Z 2, Sophie Geddes (Tai Tapu) Bellagio GNZ 3, Pippa Collins (Palmerston) Double J Barman 4, Pippa Collins (Palmerston) First Lady 5, Jessica Hore (Millers Flat) Beaumont Birdie 6.


Harrison Lane Pro-Amateur Rider Series: Nicole White (Invercargill) Lil Le Roux 1, Kimberleigh McCabe (Invercargill) Kace 2, Jess Land (Canterbury) Emilio MSH 3, Chris Harris (Christchurch) Commissioner 4, Courtney Townsend (Darfield) Corofina ECPH 5, Georgina Dormer (Rangiora) Bravados NZPH 6.


FMG Young Rider Series: Molly Buist-Brown (Christchurch) Vali 1, Steffi Whittaker (Canterbury) Whimsical WDS 2, Grace Manera (Christchurch) Cazette HSH 3, Sophie Townsend (Darfield) Kingslea Kiwi 4, Rosa Buist-Brown (Christchurch) Bellick ST 5, Olivia Brown (Ashley Downs) RH Kukumoa 6.


Cavalleria Toscana Horse Mini Prix Series: Molly Buist-Brown (Christchurch) Vali 1, Grace Manera (Christchurch) Cazette HSH 2,  Nicole White (Invercargill) Lil Le Roux 3, Olivia Brown (Ashley Downs) RH Kukumoa 4, Jess Land (Canterbury) Emilo MSH 5, Georgina Dormer (Rangiora) Casanova NZPH 6.


Hussey Paint and Panel Pony Mini Prix Series: Jessica Hore (Millers Flat) She’s a Cracker 1, Cara Quinn (Queenstown) Galaxy Knight Out 2, Molly Smith (Timaru) BG Lennox 3, Chloe Martin ( ) Harrison James 4, Kaitlyn Murray (Rakaia) FC Fine Lace 5, Amy Brenssell (Tapanui) Mararoa Kobie Breeze 6.


For full results, head to www.main-events.com .

By Diana Dobson
1 December 2020