Melody Matheson rides Cortaflex Graffiti MH in the ESNZ Horse Grand Prix, CHB A&P Show 12-14 November 2020, Photo Credit: KAMPIC / Kerry Marshall

A twisty and turny course was no match for Melody Matheson and Cortaflex Graffiti MH who scarpered away with victory in the ESNZ Horse Grand Prix at the Central Hawke’s Bay A&P Show at Waipukurau at the weekend.

Seven of the 10 starters came back for a fiercely-fought jump-off over the Heather McDonald-designed course where the top four all kept their slates clean and there was nothing between the top two, both who were mares. But in the end it was Melody and Cortaflex Graffiti MH who came home .88 of a second ahead of Brooke Edgecombe (Waipukurau) and LT Holst Andrea.

Melody was last to go and knew she had to be super-fast.
“I didn’t see Brooke’s round but I had seen others before her that were really quick,” said Melody. “The course was twisty and turny so you needed to do tight turns after the jumps. We certainly weren’t wasting any time out there. She likes jump-offs and this was a bit of fun for her. She is feeling really good.”

Next on the agenda for the Havelock North combo is the World Cup round at Hawera. Melody’s win in the Grand Prix capped off a good show, with a win in the East Coast Performance Horses Five-Year-Old Series with Cortaflex Giulia MH who also did well in the show hunter.

In the Country TV Pony Grand Prix, five of the original 11 starters came back for the jump-off where Keira Page (Auckland) and Redcliffs Colour Me In ruled with their four fault round, crossing the flags in 39.68 seconds. Dylan Bibby (Onga Onga) and his two Daisy Patch and My Funky Monkey filled second and third respectively with their four and five fault rounds.

The annual show attracted good entries with the ground in great condition, especially considering the heavy rain earlier in the week.

Keira Page rides Redcliffs Colour Me In in the Country TV Pony Grand Prix, CHB A&P Show 12-14 November 2020, Photo Credit: KAMPIC / Kerry Marshall

Results –

Showjumping, ESNZ Horse Grand Prix (sponsored by Farmlands): Melody Matheson (Havelock North) Cortaflex Graffiti MH 1, Brooke Edgecombe (Waipukurau) LT Holst Andrea 2, Robert Steele (Waipukurau) LT Holst Bernadette 3, Maurice Beatson (Dannevirke) Gold Locks 4, Simon Wilson (Waipukurau) McMillans Ariados 5, Katharine Van Tuyl (Palmerston North) Centavino 6.


Country TV Pony Grand Prix (sponsored by PGG Wrightson Wool): Keira Page (Auckland) Redcliffs Colour Me In 1, Dylan Bibby (Onga Onga) Daisy Patch 2, Dylan Bibby (Onga Onga) My Funky Monkey 3, Milly Waldin (Havelock North) Alasaan Arzu 4, Lucy Buchanan (Hastings) Redcliffs Colour Me Quick 5, Tessa Mason (Napier) Mr Acho 6.


Harrison Lane Pro-Amateur Rider Series: Larina Dolman (Gisborne) Kiwi Lansing 1, Sally Clark (Dannevirke) Victoria’s Secret 2, Tracy Mason (Napier) WP Stella 3, Ashley Hart (Hastings) Kiwi Showtime 4, Mandy Illston (Masterton) Iguazu 5, Craig Sullivan (Masterton) Weiti Ontario 6.


UltraMox Six-Year-Old Series: Julie Davey (Hastings) LT Holst Freda, Geordie Bull (Atiamuri) Marius and Logan Massie (Dannevirke) Florence =1.


East Coast Performance Horses Five-Year-Old Series: Melody Matheson (Havelock North) Cortaflex Giulia MH, Ashley Hart (Hastings) Kiwi Royal, Rachel Nelson (Waimarama) Good Tune NZPH and Kimberley Carrington (Takapau) Double J Typhoon =1.


Mainland Coachwork Junior Rider Series: Kimberley Carrington (Takapau) Double J Barmaid 1, Tim Wilson (Waipukurau) McMillans Chuck 2, Dylan Bibby (Onga Onga) Wenrose Vertigo 3, Makayla White (Hastings) Kiwi Princess 4, Milly Waldin (Havelock North) U Can Dance NZPH 5, Grace Stevenson (Hastings) SunKist CSNZ 6.


Dunstan Horsefeeds Amateur Rider Series: Kaleigh Kent (Otane) Double J Sponge Bob Square Pants 1, Lidy Loffler (Wairoa) Parafino 2, Ali Hilton (Wellington) Willowridge Surprise 3, Charlotte Gray (Levin) Bridgemere Havana 4, Nigel Horton (Woodville) Heisenberg 5, Brianna Massie (Dannevirke) In Colour 6.


Show hunter, ESNZ Junior and Petticoat Lane Performance Horses Adult Equitation Rider Series: Antonio Matangi (Levin) Shoe Shine Polish 1, Rebecca Conole (Masterton) Private Benjamin III 2, Brittany Tilson (Hastings) Elmswood Park 3, Hazel Jones (Plimmerton) Sancho 4, Sally Ward (Waipukurau) Paradox 5.


Gyro Plastics Junior High Points Series: Pia White (Masterton) Private Benjamin III 1, Molly Pike (Cambridge) Zig Zag 2, Ike Baker (Hawke’s Bay) My Gummi Bear 3, Hazel Jones (Plimmerton) Sancho 4, Kitty White (Wairarapa) Tripoli 5.


ESNZ Amateur High Points Series: Ashleigh Forde (Hastings) My Gummi Bear 1, Merran Hain (Gisborne) Untouchable 2, Rebecca Conole (Masterton) Private Benjamin III 3, Jane Ward (Waipukurau) Meersbrook Fire ‘N’ Ice 4, Kate Ward (Waipukurau) Thornfield Athenry 5.


NRM High Points Series: Merran Hain (Gisborne) Untouchable 1, Antonio Matangi (Levin) Shoe Shine Polish 2.


Float Factory Cat A High Points Series: Molly McEwan (Gisborne) Pied Piper Alize 1, Iyve Speirs (Gisborne) Miss Candy Floss 2, Poppy Tatham (Masterton) Nikau Rockstar 3, Bayly Castles (Dannevirke) Sunny Side UP 4, Lily Kent (Otane) Ataahua Rapture 5.


Sure Grip Mats Pony Rider Equitation Points Series: Kaitlin Brown (Wairoa) Tawa 1, Zara von Dadelszen (Waipukurau) Star Waka 2, Manaia Papworth (Masterton) Camberley Bojangles 3, Sam Willetts (Pahiatua) Cocoa 4, Maya Wynne-Lewis (Hastings) Soltaire Solar Flare 5.


Fiber Fresh Cat B High Points: Bridie King (Pahiatua) Puketawa Puzzle 1, Ella Rouse (Gisborne) Ruby Tunes 2, Dylan Bibby (Onga Onga) Ten Karat 3, Zoe Corbin (Hastings) Ellangowan Stevie Nicks 4.


Aniwell Cat C High Points: Kaitlin Brown (Wairoa) Tawa 1, Manaia Papworth (Masterton) Camberley Bojangles 2, Katie Bobby (Onga Onga) Greedy McCready 3, Maya Wynne-Lewis (Hastings) Solitaire Solar Flare 4, Ella Watson (Gisborne) Tallyho Reuben James 5.


For full results, head to

By Diana Dobson
16 November 2020