Todd Magner’s plan for the ESNZ Horse Grand Prix at the Showjumping Canterbury Labour Weekend Carnival was just to see where he and his horse Awatuna Jonesy were at with an eye to the bigger classes later in the season.

As it was, the combination, who hail from Hokitika but are based at Lincoln, trumped the field with Todd taking the blame for the rails down. “He jumped perfectly,” said Todd. “The rails were my rustiness. Jonesy is like a puppy dog – he can be really spooky at times but he knows his job and just gets on with it. He really enjoys it.”

The 13-year-old is by Littorio out of a Clydie cross mare and was bred, and owned, by Penny Jones who also happens to be Todd’s trainer and owner of his whole team. “She is pretty stoked,” says Todd.

“It was our first start for the season. (Course designer) Lex (Peddie’s) course was definitely challenging. You have to be 100% accurate with his courses – if you miss a turn slightly it throws the rhythm right out.”

Todd is looking to come north for Takapoto and the Horse of the Year Show. In 2019 he and Awatuna Jonesy were ninth in the Olympic Cup. “That was just something else!”

In the meantime, the 22-year-old is on the countdown to finishing his four year degree, a Bachelor of Agriculture Commerce with Accounting. “It is a relief to be almost done and then I can spend the summer concentrating on my riding.”

In the Country TV Pony Grand Prix (sponsored by Saddlery Barn), there was nothing in it between Oamaru’s Gillies sisters Samantha and Emma. Both were double clear but in the end it was Samantha and Junior Disco who won the day with their 45.36-second time, just heading home Emma and Benrose Playtime, who stopped the clock at 45.63.

Local Jess Land had a great show, winning the Tavern Harewood Horse Mini Prix and Harrison Lane Pro-Amateur Rider Series (sponsored by Hussey Paint & Panel) class aboard Emilio MSH.

Entries for the two-day show, which was held at the NEC at McLeans Island, were well up on recent years with particular growth in the show hunter section and introduction to showjumping classes.

Event secretary Gail Power said it was particularly heartening to see so many “newbies” competing.


Results –


ESNZ Horse Grand Prix (sponsored by Kinloch Farms): Todd Magner (Hokitika) Awatuna Jonesy 1, Molly Buist-Brown (Christchurch) Vali 2, Amy McMullan (Timaru) Silversmith 3.


Country TV Pony Grand Prix (sponsored by Saddlery Barn): Samantha Gillies (Oamaru) Junior Disco 1, Emma Gillies (Oamaru) Benrose Playtime 2, Molly Moffatt (Christchurch) Te Ngaio Raggamuffin 3, Johanna Wylaars Christchurch ) Wembleybrook Firecracker 4, Molly Moffatt (Christchurch) Tironui Firecracker 5, Ella Rae-Wood (Greymouth) Tallyho Primrose 6.


Matthews Hanoverians Seven-Year-Old Series (sponsored by Jess Land Equestrian): Rosa Buist-Brown (Christchurch) Bellick ST 1, Molly Buist-Brown (Christchurch) Mountain Eutopia 2, Rose Alfeld (Leeston) Eye Catcher NZPH 3, Sally Spicer (Christchurch) Corrine HSH 4.


Dunstan Horsefeeds Amateur Rider Series (sponsored by Tavern Harewood): Nic Grant (Christchurch) Mellivora BP 1, Zoe Shore (Ashburton) Saffron 2, Harriet Gardner (Waimate) PL Queen of Hearts 3, Michal Wells (Marlborough) Gravel Hill 4, Sonia McKerchar (Oamaru) Edward NZPH 5, Emma Burrell (Blenheim) Pretoria HK 6.


Harrison Lane Pro-Amateur Rider Series (sponsored by Hussey Paint & Panel): Jess Land (Canterbury) Emilio MSH 1, Tessa Silcock (Nelson) TMS Vincenzo 2, Courtney Townsend (Darfield) Corofina ECPH 3, Mary Wakeman (Kaiapoi) MJ Lubeck 4, Claudia Faulkner (Christchurch) Tripel Shot 5, Nicole White (Invercargill) Lil Leroux 6.


FMG Young Rider Series (sponsored by BetaVet): Molly Buist-Brown (Christchurch) Mountain Eutopia 1, Steffi Whittaker (Canterbury) Whimsical WDS 2, Steffi Whittaker (Canterbury) On the Point Eve 3, Sophie Townsend (Darfield) Kingslea Kiwi 4, Molly Buist-Brown (Christchurch) Vali 5, Rebecca Wardle (Hokitika) Dingmac Eccles 6.


Mainland Coachwork Junior Rider Series: Samantha Gillies (Oamaru) Socrates de la Vie Z 1, Anna Nalder (North Canterbury) Icebreaker II 2, Jakob Pascoe (Waikari Valley) Bravo 3, Molly Moffatt (Christchurch) Glenmark 4, Madeline Woods (Christchurch) Playmaker 5, Pippa Collins (Palmerston) Double J Barman 6.


East Coast Performance Horses Five-Year-Old Series (sponsored by Canterbury Equine Clinic): Makenzie Causer (Christchurch) Lord Axel, Georgina Cox (Timaru) Bellini GNZ, Amy McMullan (Timaru) Pure Cascade and Rose Alfeld (Leeston) Celebration ECPH =1.


UltraMox Six-Year-Old Series (sponsored by Hazlett Rural): Rose Alfeld (Leeston) Footloose NZPH 1.


For full results, head to .

By Diana Dobson
October 27, 2020