Georgia Bouzaid rides AP Ninja to win the Equifibre Junior Rider Series at Burmester Realty NY GP Show Jumping held at Woodhill Sands 4-5 January 2020
Photos by Christine Cornege/ Cornege Photography

Georgia Bouzaid’s solid form has continued, this time winning both the Country TV Pony Grand Prix and the Equifibre Junior Rider at the Burmester Realty New Year Grand Prix Showjumping Show at Woodhill Sands at the weekend.

The Cambridge teen teamed up with her lovely Kaimanawa Redcliffs Bill to win the nine strong Pony Grand Prix. Three combinations came back for the jump-off with two keeping their slates all clear but true to form, Georgia and Bill flew around the course to come home 10.22 seconds clear of runner up Katie Bridgeman (Auckland) aboard Tallyho Scoundrel.

Georgia was a comfortable winner of the Junior Rider with Emily Hayward’s former horse AP Ninja. Twenty-two started the class with seven coming back for the jump-off where Georgia and Ninja were double clear, crossing the flags in 41.99 seconds. Rylee Sheehan (Te Aroha) and Bandito NZPH filled second place with their double clear efforts in 44.37.

Woodhill Sands trustee Glen Beal took the honours in the Equissage Horse Grand Prix aboard All Expenses of Renton. The Pukekohe combination were the only ones to go clear in the opening round with Sam Matthews (Cambridge) and Adloo Annabelle coming in for second in their first Grand Prix start.

It was a small show at Woodhill Sands, and one often described as the most relaxed of the year, to ease into 2020.

Philippa Howells built in ring one, with Gina Moss in ring two, and Wayne Bragg in ring three. All rings ran on the sand in preparation for the Collinson FX Premier SJ show next week. The grass arena is  looking to be in super condition after a few months of irrigation and fertilizing.

Competitors at the weekend’s show had a rather eerie yellow haze from the Australian bush fires hanging over the grounds.


Results –


FMG Young Rider Series: Leeshelle Small (Ramarama) AMS Glenbrooke Archie Bunker 1, Brooke Hawthorne (Cambridge) Ziggy Stardust GNZ 2, Emma Watson (Morrinsville) Maddox Letino 3, Maddison Greatorex (Waipu) Daisy Duke NZPH 4, Keean Cooper (Te Kauwhata) Pythia 5, Savanna Stirling (Auckland) Ngahiwi Lenny 6.


Harrison Lane Pro Am Rider Series: Olivia Glen (Clevedon) Coconella 1 , Stratton Craig (Northland) Kiwi Supakee 2, Abby Robinson (Ohaupo) Hillman Hunter 3, India Causebrook (Pukekohe) Westminster Rock 4, Paxton Conder (Whatawhata) La Fonteyn 5, Christine Cornege (Cambridge) Varekai SL 6.


Dunstan Horsefeeds Amateur Rider Series: Ashley Johnston (Wellington) Miss Vee NZPH 1, Hayley Morgan (Aongatete) Stardust Harlequin Revenge 2, Shelley Bridgeman (Auckland) Oaks Vendetta 3, Brooke Knight Willis (Auckland) Everything Equine Totara 4, Belinda George (Warkworth) Pre Mo 5, Georgia Sheard (Kaukapakapa) Redcliffs Armani RF 6.


Fiber Fresh Feeds Horse Grand Prix Super Series: Emma Watson (Morrinsville) Maddox Letino 1, Sam Matthews (Cambridge) DSE Exuberance 2, Tim Featherston (Kerikeri) Bellagio NZPH 3, Christine Cornege (Cambridge) Varekai SL 4, Catherine Cleghorn (Waiuku) My Distraction 5, Glen Beal (Pukekohe) Sacramento 6.


Equifibre Junior Rider Series: Georgia Bouzaid (Cambridge) AP Ninja 1, Rylee Sheehan (Te Aroha) Bandito NZPH 2, Aimee Collinson (Clevedon) Bunny Hop 3, Sophia Blackbourn (Hamilton) Blackall Park Romeo 4, Karis Spurway (New Plymouth) Kapattack 5, Maya Hegh (Taupaki) Encore NZPH 6.


Equissage Horse Grand Prix: Glen Beal (Pukekohe) All Expenses of Renton 1, Sam Matthews (Cambridge) Adloo Annabelle 2, Laura Inkster (Clevedon) Matawai Sentana 3.


Country TV Pony Grand Prix: Georgia Bouzaid (Cambridge) Redcliffs Bill 1, Katie Bridgeman (Auckland) Tallyho Scoundrel 2, Aimee Collinson (Clevedon) Moonlight Glow 3, Maddison Greatorex (Waipu) Spotified 4, Rylee Sheehan (Te Aroha) Tony The Pony 5, Isabelle Jameson (Whangarei) Pacific Dream 6.


Alltech  Pony Grand Prix Super Series: Zara Main (Auckland) Blue Crush 1, Cassie Topper (Whangarei) Redcliffs Wizz Bang MF 2, Maya Hegh (Taupaki, Auckland) Triple Star One of a Kind 3, Florry Kempster (Tuakau) Just Simply Red 4, Summer Denize (Kerikeri) Limerick’s Black Samba 5, Rosa Wilkinson (Whangarei) Double J Yippee 6.


Full results – 


By Diana Dobson

7th January 2020