Tegan Fitzsimon and Windermere Cappuccino have continued their winning way, this time taking out the Equissage Horse Grand Prix at the Gyro Plastics Wellington-Horowhenua Showjumping and Show Hunter Championships in Foxton.

The Christchurch combo were one of four to go through to the jump-off where they were last to go. Ahead of them Jesse Linton (Hastings) and Vitess had left everything up, coming home in 49.91 seconds over the Heather McDonald-designed course.

“Jesse was really quick,” says Tegan. “There wasn’t really anywhere you could take strides out, but you could turn back a little tighter. I didn’t want to go out there and go completely crazy, rather I wanted a nice run for him. It was no walk in the park!” They stopped the clock at 46.74 seconds.

The win rounded off a good show for Tegan who took the quinella in the Matthews Hanoverians Seven-Year-Old Series with Glenbrooke All Roses and Campari and also placed fourth and fifth in the 1.35m championship. All four of the horses in her truck headed home with a prize and the team now looks to the East Coast Performance Horses National Young Horse Show. The next big one for Cappuccino is the World Cup round in Taupo just before Christmas. “The plan is now to work on a few things and get him jumping the best I can,” says Tegan. “There are still a couple of things that need touching up but he jumped phenomenal in the first round today so I am definitely feeling more confident.”

In the Country TV Pony Grand Prix, seven of the original 12 starters came back for the jump-off where Isabella Narracci (Hawke’s Bay) and Te Urewera Magic blitzed the field with a double clear in 42.92 seconds. Annie Moffett (Hawke’s Bay) and Piripi were also all clean, stopping the clock at 47.56 with Samantha Carrington (Takapau) and Colours of Lansing rounding out the top three with her faultless efforts.

Results –

Equissage (Vets on Riverbank) Horse Grand Prix: Tegan Fitzsimon (Christchurch) Windermere Cappuccino 1, Jesse Linton (Hastings) Vitess 2, Maurice Beatson (Dannevirke) Mandalay Cove 3, Ally Carson (Putaruru) LC Autograph 4, Anna Trent (Levin) Silverstar 5, Heloise Tolo (Wellington) Kiwi Bird 6.

Country TV (Anna Trent Equestrian) Pony Grand Prix: Isabella Narracci (Hawke’s Bay) Te Urewera Magic 1, Annie Moffett (Hawke’s Bay) Piripi 2, Samantha Carrington (Takapau) Colours of Lansing 3, Tara Gower (Ohaura) Ngahiwi Roany Pony 4, Karis Spurway (New Plymouth) Kabo Cappesh 5, Katie Bridgeman (Auckland) Tallyho Scoundrel 6.

FMG (Versatile) Young Rider Series: Ally Carson (Putaruru) Whiorau Ritchie 1, Sophie Scott (Wellington) Lakota 2, Ally Carson (Putaruru) Louis 3, Nicholas O’Leary (Wanganui) Obeone Kanobe 4, Nicholas O’Leary (Wanganui) Centiare 5, Samantha Carrington (Takapau) Double J Breeze On 6.

EquiFibre (Equestrio Style) Junior Rider Series: Karis Spurway (New Plymouth) Kapattack 1, Adele Rycroft (Dannevirke) Jericho R 2, Tara Gower (Ohaura) Ngahiwi Ned Kelly 3, Lilly Carpenter (Taihape) Kinnordy Rhani 4, Francesca Corich van der bas (Paraparaumu) Cardo 5, Leah McKay (Levin) My Razzle Dazzle 6.

Harrison Lane (Century Distributors) Pro Am Rider Series: Lucy Fell (Longburn) Faratona STS 1, Jessica Giles (Upper Hutt) Dining at Dusk 2, Dana Sutton (Palmerston North) Semilly Du Pas 3, Deanika Vink (Taranaki) Cadenza Xtreme 4, Tracy Mason (Napier) WP Stella 5, Bailey Rutter (Balclutha) Henton Serenade 6.

Dunstan HorseFeeds (Gee Gees) Amateur Rider Series: Ashley Johnston (Wellington) Mis Vee NZPH 1, Taylor Burnett (Palmerston North) Roulez-rouge 2, Janine Kirkbeck (Wellington) Kiwi Exalt 3, Natalie Page (Levin) The Dark Horse 4, Graeme Isaacson (Waipukurau) Pokere 5, Jessie Goggin (Waikanae) Miss Cassini MS 6.

Matthews Hanoverians (Bentley Family) Seven-Year-Old Series: Tegan Fitzsimon (Christchurch) Glenbrooke All Roses 1, Tegan Fitzsimon (Christchurch) Campari 2, Jesse Linton (Hastings) LT Holst Elsbeth 3, Sally Clark (Dannevirke) Sun Flake 4, Heloise Tolo (Wellington) Doris NZPH 5.

Cheleken Equestrian and UltraMox Six-Year-Old Series: Heloise Tolo (Wellington) Heartline and Logan Massie (Dannevirke) Avenger Xtreme =1.

East Coast Performance Horses Five-Year-Old Series: Brooke Edgecombe (Waipukurau) LT Holst Helen, Julie Davey (Hastings) LT Holst Freda, Sacha Rennie (Palmerston North) Meersbrooke Stolen Kiss, Phoebe Howson (Hawke’s Bay) SF Royal Riley and Jesse Linton (Hastings) Keltern William =1.

1.35m Championship: Ally Carson (Putaruru) Louis 1, Jesse Linton (Hastings) LT Holst Elspeth 2, Heloise Tolo (Wellington) Can’t Touch This NZPH 3, Tegan Fitzsimon (Christchurch) Campari 4, Tegan Fitzsimon (Christchurch) Alacazam MH 5, Blake Davis (Palmerston North) Socrates De La Vie 6.

2 December 2019