It may have poured overnight in Auckland but the brave souls who attended the Alltech Spring Series Grand Prix Showjumping Show at Woodhill Sands at the weekend were rewarded with clear days.

While it may have been a little soggy in the car park, the jumping surfaces were all in perfect condition. Interest was so high that organisers had to close off entries.

Eleven combinations lined up in the Harrison Lane Pro Am Series class where Paxton Conder (Whatawhata) and La Fonteyn showed they mean business after stepping up from winning the Hinterland Amateur Rider Series last season. Nine came back for the jump-off where seven were again double clear, with Paxton stopping the clock at 36.16 seconds and runner-up Vicky Ridley (Karaka) on Mosaic II coming home in 38.21.

In the Dunstan Horsefeeds Amateur Rider Series class, Ashley Johnston (Wellington) and Miss Vee NZPH turned it into a one horse race, blitzing the field in the jump-off by three seconds. Eighteen started the class with eight coming back to decide who would ride off with those valuable early-season points.

The 24-strong Equifibre Junior Rider Series also produced a very clear winner with Charlotte Treneary (Kumeu) and FH Monte Carlo more than five seconds faster than their closest opposition in the seven strong jump-off.

Emma Watson (Morrinsville) and Maddox Letino took out the 11-strong Alltech Horse Mini Prix comfortably, with Rylee Sheehan (Te Aroha) and Tony the Pony taking the honours in the Fiber Fresh Feeds Pony Mini Prix which attracted 16 combinations.

Danielle Watts was the course designer for ring one, with Gina Moss, fresh back from assisting Peter Holmes at Thunderbird Show Park in Canada, in ring two,  and Wayne Bragg doing the honours in ring three.


Results –

Harrison Lane Pro Am Series (show sponsor Burmester Realty): Paxton Conder (Whatawhata, Waikato) La Fonteyn 1, Vicki Ridley (Karaka) Mosaic II 2, Sam Matthews (Cambridge) Adloo Annabelle 3, India Causebrook (Pukekohe) Westminster Rock 4, Amanda Illston (Bombay, Auckland) Verdelho 5, Laura McGregor (Auckland) High Command 6.


Dunstan Horsefeeds Amateur Rider Series: Ashley Johnston (Wellington) Miss Vee NZPH 1, Amelia Clark (Auckland) Master of Hossack 2, Olivia Glen (Clevedon) Sassy Star 3, Emily Twort (Henderson) Cameo KSNZ 4, Brooke Knight Willis (Auckland) Everything Equine Totara 5, Susie McLeod (Dairy Flat) Arrans Lad 6.


Equifibre Junior Rider Series: Charlotte Treneary (Kumeu, Auckland) FH Monte Carlo 1, Aimee Collinson (Clevedon /Auckland) Bunny Hop 2, Georgia Milner (Auckland) Icebreaker MP 3, Emma Watson (Morrinsville) Maddox Kiwi Silverkee 4, Brooke Hawthorne (Cambridge) Deimos 5, Caira Manson (Auckland) TP All Class 6.


Alltech Horse Mini Prix 1.25m-1.3m: Emma Watson (Morrinsville) Maddox Letino 1, Alannah Jackson (Cambridge) Charlie NZPH 2, Sarah West (Matamata) Delamerie Sun 3, Vicki Ridley (Karaka) Mosaic II 4, Alannah Jackson (Cambridge) Capbella 5, Ellie Bestwick (Kerikeri) Showtym Stardust 6.


Fiber Fresh Feeds Pony Mini Prix 1.1m-1.15m: Rylee Sheehan (Te Aroha) Tony The Pony 1, Katie Readings (Pukekawa) Rump Shaker 2, Katie Readings (Pukekawa) Circus Girl 3, Aimee Collinson (Clevedon/Auckland) Moonlight Glow 4, Summer Denize (Kerikeri) Bella Vinci Duet 5, Summer Denize (Kerikeri) Limerick’s Black Samba 6.


By Diana Dobson – HP Media Liaison