Margaret Ridley on Tallaght – Winners of the Southland Stakes and Hinterland Amateur Rider class

The Southland Jumping Group held their final show for the season at Gore last weekend. Luckily the awful weather forecasted didn’t eventuate and two days of good jumping was held on their beautiful grounds. A good variety of classes was on offer in both the horse and pony rings and were well supported with good entries in most.


The standout performance of the show was Margaret Ridley aboard Tallaght. They were the winners of the prestigious Southland Stakes – a three round competition held over a 1.15m course.

The Southland Stakes is for any combination that has not jumped over 1.20m during the season and had a field of 20 competing for the trophy and rug this year.


Margaret was a Southland committee member when the competition was first introduced in 1973 so to win was fantastic. To top the weekend off Margaret and Tallaght also won the Hinterland Amateur Rider class on Sunday making their journey down from Canterbury very worthwhile.


Grace Percy (Otago) also had a super weekend with Kiwi Spirit taking out both the Dunstan Horsefeeds & Equifibre Pro-Amateur and Mini Prix classes. Grace also won the 1.10m Horse Championship with Sunny Disposition.


The Country TV Pony Grand Prix class had just two entries but both Ella Wylie on MF Spot Me and Noah Coutts on Bizzie Canoodling provided a close competition. Wylie finished the first round with one time fault, and Coutts had a rail to finish on four faults. The second round saw them both jump clear giving the win to Ella, but both riders can now head to HOY with confidence.


The Dunstan Horsefeeds & Equifibre Junior Rider class had a strong field of six but was won by Pippa Collins (Otago) on Mr Gregory with the only clear round of the class. Georgia Allison (Canterbury) placed second on Paintball and Jordan Van Miltenburg (Southland) on Truly Unique were third.


In the Pony Championship classes, Ella Wylie completed a successful weekend by winning the Canterbury Saddlery Pony Points 1.10m on Burma Milly. This class was hotly contested with some very good ponies in the running for the top prize.

The 1.05 Championship was won by Erin Wilson (Otago) on Halycon Eleven.


Local rider Tyler Mckee won the 1.20m Championship class with the lovely grey Stratos, while another local Southland rider Siobhan Hazlett took out the Horse 1.05m Championship with Sam.

The 1.30m Championship class was won by Otago’s Kate Beattie on Smarty Marty who were the only combination to provide double clear rounds. Jordan Van Miltenburg placed second on his grandfather’s horse Truly Unique with Pippa Collins on Mr Gregory third, and Tyler McKee on Lumarzo fourth.


In the Show Hunter ring, it was the final of the Otago-Southland Series, which runs across all the Otago-Southland shows for the season. Jade McRae (Invercargill) on Swayze took away the winners rug and rosette for the Open Horse, making it the third consecutive year that this combination have won the series.


Results –



Southland Stakes

  1. Tallaght – Margaret Ridley
  2. Fohn Friday – Jenny Maubach
  3. Sunny Disposition – Grace Percy
  4. Williby Wisdom – Victoria Brown


FMG Young Rider Series

  1. RH Kukumoa – Olivia Brown


Country TV Pony Grand Prix

  1. MF Spot Me – Ella Wylie
  2. Bizzie Canoodling – Noah Coutts


Dunstan Horsefeeds & Equifibre Junior Rider Series

  1. Mr Gregory – Pippa Collins
  2. Paintball – Georgia Allison
  3. Truly Unique – Jordan Van Miltenburg


Hinterland Amateur Rider

  1. Tallaght – Margaret Ridley
  2. Hashtag Murphys Law – Vicki Cole
  3. Carinoso – Amanda Paul
  4. Rocky Ridge – Nicola McLennan


Dunstan Horsefeed &Equifibre ProAm Rider Series

  1. Kiwi Spirit – Grace Percy
  2. Eireann Bandoola – Gail Richardson
  3. Stratos – Tyler McKee
  4. Icey Storm – Lauren Buckley


Cavalleria Toscana Horse Mini Prix

  1. Kiwi Spirit – Grace Percy
  2. Icey Storm – Lauren Buckley
  3. Kace – Kimberleigh McCabe
  4. RH Kukumoa – Olivia Brown


Canterbury Saddlery Pony Points Prize 1.10

  1. Burma Milly – Ella Wylie
  2. Onisha – Angus Price
  3. Missing Pieces – Summer Borrie
  4. Galaxy Knight Out – Cara Quinn


Pony Championship 1.05

  1. Halycon Eleven – Erin Wilson
  2. Tallyho Mayflower – Ella wylie
  3. Mr Odd Fellow – Bella van Miltenburg
  4. Astro Pop – Pip Eason



Category A:

Ellie Templeton (Otago) Benrose Comet


Category B:

Grace Hore (Otago) Galaxy Jungle Fever


Category C:

Emma Gillies (SCNO) Moccochino


Intro Pony:

 Sarah Hay (Otago) Beechcroft Le Dance



Maria Collins

28 Feb 2019