The McCabe family had lots of reasons to celebrate this weekend with Kim’s Birthday on Friday and her mother Fiona’s Birthday yesterday. They topped off their weekend with Kim winning the Equissage Horse Grand Prix today. The combination produced the only clear in the opening round over the Emma Barker designed course. Three combinations returned for round two with Nicole White and LC Samson finishing in third on a two round total of nine faults. Steffi Whittaker and Eros K added another rail to her first round rail to finish on a total of eight for second place. Kim and Kace had a fence down early in the second round and also added two time faults to give them the win.

Kace is a16 year old Throughbred Gelding by Istidaad who Kim has produced through the levels for the last 8 years. Although they won the South Island Premier League class two years ago today was their first Grand Prix win. Kim was thrilled with their result saying “I still can’t believe I won. He’s just a super wee horse that gives it his all in the ring and today everything just went to plan”.


The Country TV Pony Grand Prix was won by Rosa Buist-Brown and Ellen Vanin Untouchable with a super clear first round and four faults in round two finishing in a fast time of 44.20. Sophie Geddes and Te Ngaio Raggamuffin were second on a total of five faults in 54.91.


There were competitive jump offs in all the rider classes on Saturday. The FMG Young Rider Class was won by Mackenzie Causer and Lasall with a double clear round. Steffi Whittaker was second and third after having one rail down on both her horses Eros K and On The Point Eve in the jump off.


The Dunstan Horse Feeds and Equifibre Junior Rider was won by Tayler Nalder and Icebreaker II, double clear in a time of 37.74 ahead of Sophie Townsend and Kingslea Kiwis 38.67 effort. 


Talia Allison and Mustang Shelby were the winners of the Hinterland Amateur Rider class finishing their jump off in a time of 39.41. Kate Perry and Casiraghi were second, clear in a time of 43.16. Jayne Beattie and Astek Reveal were easily the fastest round in 36.98 but had the last rail down to finish in third position.


Grace Percy had a great weekend with Kiwi Spirit winning the Dunstan Horsefeeds and Equifibre Pro Am and the Cavalleria Toscana Horse Mini Prix.


Four riders came through to the Jump Off in the Canterbury Saddlery Pony Mini Prix. Out first Emma Gillies and Benrose Eclipse completed their round clear in a time of 45.70 but they were pushed into second place by Cara Quinn and Galaxy Knight Out with a time of 42.19. Anna Nalder and Mangakaraa Carbon Copy placed third in 45.89.

Story: Anna Douglass
Photos: Rosa Douglass


Results –


Equissage Horse Grand Prix Series

1st Kace – Kimberleigh McCabe (Southland)

2nd Eros K – Steffi Whittaker (Canterbury)

3rd LC Samson – Nicole White (Southland)


Country TV Pony Grand Prix Series

1st Ellen Vanin Untouchable – Rosa Buist-Brown (Canterbury)

2nd Te Ngaio Raggamuffin  – Sophie Geddes (Canterbury)


FMG Young Rider Series

1st  Lasall – Makenzie Causer (Canterbury)

2nd Eros K – Steffi Whittaker (Canterbury)

3rd On The Point Eve – Steffi Whittaker (Canterbury)

4th Double J Barman – Kaitlin Feast (Canterbury)


Hinterland Amateur Rider Series

1st Mustang Shelby – Talia Allison (Otago)

2nd Casiraghi – Kate Perry (Ashburton)

3rd Astek Reveal – Jayne Beattie (SCNO)

4th Emilio MSH – Jess Land (Canterbury)

5th Serengetti – Graciey Donnithorne(Canterbury)

6th Evenstar – Harriet Gardner (SCNO)


Dunstan Horsefeeds & Equifibre Pro-Am Rider Series

1st Kiwi Spirit – Grace Percy (Otago)  

2nd Icey Storm – Lauren Buckley (Otago)   

3rd Truly Unique – Rik van Miltenburg (Southland)

4th Cazette HSH – Amanda Roy (Southland)

5th Stratos – Tyler McKee (Southland)


Dunstan Horsefeeds & Equifibre Junior Rider Series

1st Icebreaker II – Tayler Nalder (Canterbury)

2nd Kingslea Kiwi – Sophie Townsend (Canterbury)

3rd ENZO GTO – Millie Robinson (Otago)

4th Hammertime – Caitlin Adams (Canterbury)

5th Extravaganza – Noah Coutts (Otago)

6th Paintball – Georgia Allison (Canterbury)


Main Events University Series

1st Double J Barman – Kaitlin Feast (Canterbury)

2nd Adele – Courtney Townsend (Canterbury)

3rd Evenstar – Harriet Gardner (SCNO)


Lynette Harris Open Horse 130cm

1st Double J Bouncer – Harry Feast (Canterbury)

2nd LC Samson – Nicole White (Southland)

3rd Kace – Kimberleigh McCabe (Southland)

4th Lil Leroux – Nicole White (Southland)

5th Mr Jerraco – Morgan Baddeley (Canterbury)

6th Silversmith – Amy McMullan (SCNO)


Canterbury Saddlery Pony Mini Prix Series

1st Galaxy Knight Out – Cara Quinn (Otago)

2nd Benrose Eclipse – Emma Gillies (SCNO)

3rd Mangakaraa Carbon Copy – Anna Nalder (Canterbury)

4th Wembleybrook Tiffany – Joanna Wylaars (Canterbury)

5th Maroa Kobie Breeze – Sophie Sinclair (Southland)

6th Junior Disco – Samantha Gillies (SCNO)


Cavalleria Toscana Horse Mini Prix Series

1st Kiwi Spirit – Grace Percy (Otago)

2nd On The Point Eve – Steffi Whittaker (Canterbury)

3rd Icey Storm – Lauren Buckley (Otago)

4th Lil Leroux – Nicole White (Southland)

5th Double J Bouncer – Harry Feast (Canterbury)


Excel Equine Open Pony 2 Phase 120cm

1st MF Spot Me – Ella Wylie (Southland)

2nd Te Ngai Raggamuffin  – Sophie Geddes (Canterbury)

3rd Mangakaraa Carbon Copy – Anna Nalder (Canterbury)

4th Maroa Kobie Breeze – Sophie Sinclair (Southland)