Claudia Hay rides Euro Sport Centavos. Photo by: Kimi Knight, Knight Equestrian Images

The Outpost Buildings Grand Prix show at Woodhill Sands saw nearly 300 horses compete over two days of sunshine this weekend. Ring one was on grass and built by Wayne Bragg, with rings two and three spread out on the sand and built by Danielle Watts and Gina Moss respectively.

Day one saw Rachel Malcolm and Monte Carlo MVNZ win the Mathews Hanoverians 7 Year Old class, while Brayden Aarts and George Jetson were once again on form to take out the FMG Young Rider. The Dunstan Horsefeeds and Equifibre Pro-Amateur saw no clear rounds but three combinations on four faults returned for a jump off, with Takapoto Equestrian rider Jaime Campbell and Lanice van de Heffinck victorious over second placed Kylee McCambridge and Chicago.  

Riders welcomed a slightly cooler day on Sunday, and it was looking like an eight fault jump off might be on the cards in the Equissage Horse Grand Prix sponsored by Outpost Buildings until Claudia Hay entered the ring on the lovely Eurosport Centavos. The big black stallion jumped an effortless clear to take the win, with Danielle Maurer on Madam Coco the fastest eight faults for second and Todd Magner on Awatuna Jonesy not far behind for third. Natasha Brooks on Twerk, also sitting on eight faults, took out fourth place with yet another eight fault round for Daniel Blundell and Redcliffs Armani RF for fifth.

 It was Waipu based Maddison Greatorex who claimed victory in the Country TV NZ Pony Grand Prix sponsored by Alltech on her very own Spotified with Rylee Sheehan and Tony the Pony in second. The last class of the day, the Dunstan Horsefeeds and Equifibre Junior Rider, was a hard fought contest with Olivia Dalton and Yalambi’s Garibaldi emerging as the winner after a strong jump off.

The GP Super Series classes were once again well represented, with 22 lining up in the Pacific Motor Group Horse GP Super Series. Brayden Aarts continued a good show with a win on LT Holst Aunty Annette, and Jaime Campbell proved her top form with a second place for Takapoto Equestrian’s Lanice van de Heffinck. The Burmester Realty Pony GP Super Series was taken out by Sophia Hall on Taylor Made Gift, with late entry Imogen Wright on McCartney in second.



Equissage Horse Grand Prix Series (sponsored by Outpost Buildings)

1 – Claudia Hay (Mosgiel) Euro Sport Centavos

2 – Danielle Maurer (Auckland) Madam Coco

3 – Todd Magner (Hokitika) Awatuna Jonesy

4 – Natasha Brooks (Cambridge) Twerk

5 – Daniel Blundell (Auckland) Redcliffs Armani RF

6 – Oliver Croucher (Rotorua) Waitangi Wi Fi


Country TV Pony Grand Prix Series (sponsored by Alltech NZ)

1 – Maddison Greatorex (Waipu) Spotified

2 – Rylee Sheehan (Te Aroha) Tony The Pony

3 – Sophia Hall (Auckland) TCG Centadel

4 – Tyla Hackett (Waiuku) The Dreamer

5 – Keira Page (Waiheke Island) Redcliffs Colour Me In

6 – Keira Page (Waiheke Island) Redcliffs Kodak Moment


Mathews Hannoverian Seven Year Old Breeding Series

1 – Rachel Malcolm (Cambridge) Monte Carlo MVNZ

2 – Rosie Commons (Auckland) Lotte


Mitavite Speedi Beat Six Year Old Breeding series

1 – Oliver Croucher (Rotorua) Scotsmans Valley

1 – Laura Inkster (Clevedon) Nikama MVNZ

1 – Paula Mussen (Pukekohe) Deja Vu NZPH


East Coast Performance Horses Five Year Old Series

1 – Rachel Malcolm (Cambridge) Onessa MVNZ

1 – Jaime Campbell (Cambridge) Casanova Xtreme


FMG Young Rider Series

1 – Brayden Aarts (Pukekawa) George Jetson

2 – Todd Magner (Hokitika) Awatuna Jonesy

3 – Ella Poole-Crowe (Whangarei) Cleo Parfaite

4 – Olivia Dalton (Coatesville) Appleton

5 – Maddison Bult (Kumeu) Ngahiwi Original

6 – Laura Hilhorst (Pukeatua) LC Underberg


Dunstan Horsefeeds & Equifibre Junior Rider Series

1 – Olivia Dalton (Coatesville) Yalambi’s Garibaldi

2 – Emma-Kate Wilson (Hamilton) Kiwi Fern

3 – Hayden Pringle (Hikurangi  Northland) Weiti Warrior

4 – Jayden Horsfall (Bay of Islands) My Pure Platinum

5 – Ciel Butler (tauranga) Matrix I Spy

6 – Kalani Nicol (Whitianga) KMR Descarado


Hinterland Amateur Rider Series

1 – Paxton Conder (Tirau, Waikato) La Fonteyn

2 – Susie McLeod (Dairy Flat) Arrans Lad

3 – Vanessa Veart-Smith (Ahuroa) The Notorious Fez

4 – Taryn Skelton-Kyd (Auckland) BMW Numero Uno

5 – Hayley Morgan (katikati) Ngahiwi Flavour

6 – Amy Schischka (Waiwera) Rock It


Dunstan HorseFeeds & Equifibre Pro Am Rider Series

1 – Jaime Campbell (Cambridge) Lanice van de Heffinck

2 – Kylee McCambridge (Cambridge) Chicago

3 – Savanah Larsen-Church (cambridge) Westhay Grace

4 – Caroline Sutherland (Whakatane) Layla MVNZ

5 – Bryony Smith (Kumeu , Auckland) Ngahiwi Warrior

6 – Laura McGregor (New Zealand) High Command


Class 25: Pacific Motor Group Horse GP Super Series

1 – Brayden Aarts (Pukekawa) LT Holst Aunty Annette

2 – Jaime Campbell (Cambridge) Lanice van de Heffinck

3 – Danielle Maurer (Auckland) Dicavalli Don Quattro

4 – Alexa Randall (Auckland) Oracle WT

5 – Melissa Marriner (Karaka) Spiritus MVNZ

6 – Laura Hilhorst (Pukeatua) LC Underberg


Burmester Realty Pony GP Super Series

1 – Sophia Hall (Auckland) Taylor Made Gift

2 – Imogen Wright (Waiuku) McCartney

3 – Aoife Brennan (Cambridge) Galaxy Samurai

4 – Crystal Hackett (Waiuku) Cracklin Rose

5 – Sage Mayo (Whitianga) Glenwood Genteel

6 – Shanae Savannah (Silverdale) Tiger Tale LS