A truly golden afternoon marked the end of a huge four days at NEC, which saw the combination of four events: the Way to WEG CDI***, Elite Equine Future Stars, the Livamol World Dressage Challenge 2018 and the Equestrian Entries U25 Championships.

It was a clean sweep for Julie Brougham in the Way to WEG CDI*** after finishing on 71.550 in the Freestyle. Hannah Burden and Matthews Hanoverians had great success with all three of their youngsters and took out overall Future Star with the exquisite 4-year-old Fanfare MH.

Our WDC team couldn’t have done any better after Kieryn Walton won the Inter I on Saturday aboard Rosari Don Carlos, while the other three members took first (Melissa Galloway), third (Lucarne Dolley) and fourth (Julie Flintoff) in the Prix St Georges lineup. This leaves NZ sitting in a strong position to defend our current WDC title.

Melissa Galloway also won the Young Rider Grand Prix on her other mount, Windermere Johansen W, taking home the Fissenden High Points Trophy and the title of U25 Champion for 2018. The U21 Young Rider Champ went to Lucarne Dolley and Ardmore.

Northland’s Alison Addis and the perennial pony Whistledown Kristopha proved no match for their taller counterparts and pocketed the L5 Championship. The L4 title went back to Waikato with Madison Schollum and Kinnordy Golda.

Samantha Fechney and JK Lucazen won the L3, while the L2 went to Holly Moorman riding Wisdom WDS. Team Williamson have another wide sash for their tack room after Rebecca collected the YR L1 on Don Tobio, and it was great to see Catherine West back in the arena, taking reserve with Rajani.

In the Pony competion, Mackenzie Sim and Pioneer North East held up the Hyland Trophy for their L4 victory; the L3 went to Bella Small and Kingslea Busy Bee. The stunning palomino Champions League and his rider Sophia Blackbourn were the deserving winners of the L2, and over in the L1 Piper Crake and Rebel Ricochet came out on top. For the non-graded 12 Yrs and Under, Olivia Bryant was Champion on Will ‘o’ the Wisp with Zoe Garland and Taurimu da Vince runners-up.

Waitemata took out the Area Teams competition, while the North vs South Teams contest went to the North Island. NZ finished with 15 points in hand over Australia to take the Trans Tasman Challenge.

Pulling off four shows concurrently was a massive challenge; Celine Filbee and her team again did an extraordinary job of making sure it all went to plan – a very big thank you to you all.