By Diana Dobson 

It was very much a team effort that helped Brooke Edgecombe and LT Holst Andrea win the Dunstan Horsefeeds & EquiFibre Horse Grand Prix at the Central Hawke’s Bay A & P Show in Waipukurau at the weekend.

Edgecombe was the only clear of the opening round over the Heather McDonald-designed course – something that surprised her.

“I thought as long as I rode her well, that we would go clear,” said Edgecombe, who also won the same class last year. “She won the 1.35m on the first day of the show so was jumping well, but I was surprised we were the only clear. There were other quite experienced horses in there and it was a good field.”

As mum to three-and-a-half month Sophie, riding can be a challenge, and Edgecombe says it is very much a team effort between herself, husband Oliver, groom and nanny Krista, and grandmothers Jan and Judy.

Andrea had her first World Cup start at Hawke’s Bay in October, and placed third, and Edgecombe is looking forward to consolidating the horse at that level.

“The end goal is Lady Rider and the Olympic Cup at the Horse of the Year Show,” she says.

Edgecombe was also first equal in the East Coast Performance Horses Five-Year-Old Series class with LT Holst Elizabeth – Andrea’s daughter.

“Hopefully this is the next generation coming on. She has a similar temperament to Andrea but is a different type of horse – she’s finer and more athletic really.”

Nine started the class, with four four faulters having their placings decided on time. Fraser Tombleson (Gisborne) and Mea I were the fastest, claiming second place with their 81.38 second effort, with Simon Wilson (Waipukurau) and McMillans Chuck third in 83.68, Chloe Hansen (Palmerston North) aboard Kiwi Motto fourth in 84.55 and Georgia Massie (Dannevirke) aboard Larinium LS taking fifth in 89.6.

In the Country TV Pony Grand Prix, Sophie Scott (Wellington) and Benrose Eclipse notched the only double clear of the class. Just three of the 11 starters came back for the jump-off where Scott opted for the steady clear. Second-placed Ruby Mason (Napier) and Mr Archo had a late rail, stopping the clock at 34.59 while Olivia Apatu (Waipukurau) and Alasaan Arzu also had four faults, coming home in 38.75.

Blake Davis (Palmerston North) took the quinella in the FMG Young Rider class with his horses Socrates de la Vie Z and Orange County.




Dunstan Horsefeeds & EquiFibre Horse Grand Prix Series Open: Brooke Edgecombe (Waipukurau) LT Holst Andrea 1, Fraser Tombleson (Gisborne) Mea I 2, Simon Wilson (Waipukurau) McMillans Chuck 3, Chloe Hansen (Palmerston North) Kiwi Motto 4, Georgia Massie (Dannevirke) Larinium LS 5, Robert Steele (Dannevirke) LT Holst Bernadette 6.

Country TV Pony Grand Prix Series: Sophie Scott (Wellington) Benrose Eclipse 1, Ruby Mason (Napier) Mr Acho 2, Olivia Apatu (Waipukurau) Alasaan Arzu 3, Lily Carpenter (Taihape) Tallyho Mystic 4, Sophie Scott (Wellington) Benrose Playtime 5, Luke Myers (Marton) Little Clown 6.

Dunstan Horsefeeds & EquiFibre Junior Rider Series: Sinead Dolman (Gisborne) Kiwi Lansing 1, Blake Davis (Palmerston North) TM Marjay 2, Rosie Bates (Napier) Vapour Trail NZPH 3, Samantha Carrington (Takapau) Double J Breeze On 4, Molly Prenter (Havelock North) Wenrose Vertigo 5, Amanda Steele (Dannevirke) Mangatu Magic 6.

Dunstan Horse Feeds & EquiFibre Pro Amateur Rider Series: Kelly Smith (Foxton) Corlinka 1, Tracy Mason (Napier) WP Stella 2, Louise Bowie (Pahiatua) Kiwi Hammer 3, Kathryn Alabaster (Havelock North) Cricklewood Banjo 4, Rebecca Porter (Napier) Kiwi Jet 5, Kathryn Alabaster (Havelock North) La Luna Rossa 6.

FMG Young Rider Series: Blake Davis (Palmerston North) Socrates de la Vie Z 1, Blake Davis (Palmerston North) Orange County 2, Sophie Scott (Wellington) Glenbrooke Centarose 3, Amanda Steele (Dannevirke) Bear Essentials 4.

Caledonian Amateur Rider Series: Dana Sutton (Palmerston North) Down Wind 1, Graeme Isaacson (Waiukurau) Fareal 2, Jacqui Symes (Waipukurau) Double J Recall 3, Katie Hercock (Otane) Theia 4, Shelagh Nolan (Gisborne) Ngahiwi Eyeza Blue 5, Desiree Foxley (Hastings) Kiwi Symbol 6.

Mitavite Six-Year-Old Series: Amy Roydhouse (Hastings) Carino NZPH, Robert Steele (Dannevirke) Two Eye See =1.

East Coast Performance Horses Five-Year-Old Series: Marcus Rose (Dannevirke) Classic Roulette, Alex Loiselle (Havelock North) Dallas NZPH, Sophie Scott (Wellington) Glenbrooke Rich as Roses, Dirk Waldin (Havelock North) Good Lord, Georgia Percy (Masterton) Double J Image, Brooke Edgecombe (Waipukurau) LT Holst Elizabeth, Alex Loiselle (Havelock North) Downtown NZPH and Amanda Illston (Masterton) Lasanta =1.

Show hunter

GYRO Plastics Junior HOYQ High Points 1m: Sally Ward (Waipukurau) Paradox 1, Mollie Moffett (Napier) Kiwi Dula 2, Anna Kincheff (Rotorua) JR Graphite 3, Jessica Barr (Taupo) Captain Solute 4.

ESNZ Amateur HOYQ High Points 1m: Laura van Velthooven (Palmerston North) Montbelle Donahue 1, Laura van Velthooven (Palmerston North) Sirocco Daisy 2, Ashleigh Forde (Hastings) My Gummi Bear 3, June Berrington (Whakatane) Kiwi Iron Mark 4, Rebecca Conole (Masterton) Private Benjamin 5, Amanda Illston (Masterton) Lasanta 6.

NRM HOYQ High Points 1.1m: Laura van Velthooven (Palmerston North) Sirocco Daisy 1, Chloe Hansen (Palmerston North) Enja MVNZ 2, Kate Ward (Waipukurau) McMillans Clearmont MVNZ 3, Caroline Richardson (Wairoa) Kiwi Corona 4, Mollie Moffett (Napier) Kiwi Dula 5, Suz Bremner (Hastings) Mohaka 6.

ESNZ Cat A HOYQ High Points Champion 70cm: Laura White (Masterton) Jubilee Master Card 1, Vienna Wilson (Taupo) Love Joy 2, Sam Brooks (Gisborne) Goldenwillow Romeo 3.

Burger King Cat B HOYQ High Points Champion 80cm: Tessa Mason (Napier) Rumpity Bump 1, Kellie Moffat (Hastings) Percy 2, Libby Fussell (Hastings) Spock 3, Libby Wilson (Taupo) Waimeha Tayza 4, Georgie Wilson (Taupo) Summer Fiesta 5, Hannah von Dadelszen (Waipukurau) Matai SB 6.

ESNZ Children Equitation Points Series 80cm: Annie Moffett (Napier) Piripi 1, Abe Baker (Porirua) Tawa 2, Ella von Dadelszen (Waipukurau) Star Waka 3, Libby Fussell (Hastings) Spock 4, Lexi Rutherford (Levin) Meersbrooke Hot Ice 5, Harriet Savage (Gisborne) Bold as Brass, Alyssa Fox (Carterton) Trainspotting =6.